Pastor Glenn Townend re-elected SPD president

Pastor Townend and his wife Pam (centre) with some of the other newly-elected division presidents.

Keep family and friends informed by sharing this article.

Pastor Glenn Townend has been re-elected president of the South Pacific Division (SPD) of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

The election of division leaders was held on the third day (June 8) of the 61st General Conference (GC) session in St Louis, Missouri.

GC president Pastor Ted Wilson addressed the newly-elected presidents: “What a blessing to have a team of individuals who are going to be leading spiritually God’s people literally around this globe. And by God’s grace they will help lead God’s people home as they look to Jesus the real Leader of the Seventh-day Adventist Church and all who believe in the Lord.”

Pastor Wilson then prayed over the presidents—that they be granted good health, clear minds and that God would guide them. The newly-elected presidents then proceeded immediately to caucus meetings to consider nominations for division secretaries and treasurers.

Pastor Townend was elected president of the SPD during the 2015 GC session in San Antonio, Texas. Prior to that he was president of the Trans Pacific Union Mission.

In other key SPD appointments, Pastor Mike Sikuri has been re-elected secretary and Francois Keet has been re-elected CFO.

There were five new presidents chosen and eight were returned to their positions across the world field of 13 Divisions.

East-Central Africa Division

Blasious Ruguri (incumbent)

Southern Africa-Indian Ocean Division

Harrington Akombwa (previously president of Zambia Union Conference/Southern Zambia Union Conference)

West-Central Africa Division

Robert Osei-Bonsu (previously dean of the Theological Seminary at Adventist University of Africa, Kenya)

Euro-Asia Division

Mikhail Kaminskiy (incumbent)

Trans European Division

Daniel Duda (previously Adventist Mission director and field secretary, TED)

Inter-American Division

Elie Henry (incumbent)

Inter-European Division

Mario Brito (incumbent)

North American Division

G Alexander Bryant (incumbent)

South American Division

Stanley Arco (incumbent)

South Pacific Division

Glenn Townend (incumbent)

Northern Asia-Pacific Division

Yo Han Kim (NSD director of Adventist Mission and assistant to the NSD president)

Southern Asia Pacific Division

Roger Caderma (previously SSD vice-president

Southern Asia Division

Ezras Lakra (incumbent)

With additional reporting by Adventist Review. Read more at:

Picture of Tracey Bridcutt

Tracey Bridcutt

Communication director, South Pacific Division
Related Stories