San doctors awarded for their care and commitment

Adventist HealthCare CEO Brett Goods with inaugural San Doctor Award and San Academic Award recipients Professor Brian Jones and Professor Henry Woo and San medical executive Dr Jeanette Conley.

Keep family and friends informed by sharing this article.

Sydney Adventist Hospital doctors have been recognised for their passion and expertise during the inaugural San Hospital Doctor Gala Dinner.

Held at the Harbourside Taronga Function Centre, the glittering social occasion was an opportunity to acknowledge the medical fraternity for their commitment to the San.

South Pacific Division president and Adventist HealthCare chairman Pastor Glenn Townend presented a message via video, welcoming and thanking the doctors, and reinforcing the Board’s support of them and their good work at the hospital. Other presenters included Master of Ceremonies Jean Kittson, Adventist HealthCare CEO Brett Goods and medical executive Dr Jeanette Conley.

A highlight of the evening was the announcement of the award winners from among many talented doctors nominated by their peers and hospital staff.

Long-serving and much revered former medical advisory committee chairman Professor Brian Jones was awarded The San Doctor Award for his altruism, compassion, integrity and leadership, educative and mentorship role along with his wholistic approach in caring for the body, mind and spirit of patients.

Noting that he is retiring at the end of September after 33 years at the San, Professor Jones was characteristically humble about his award, expressing his joy at working at the San.

“The San is just a unique institution,” he said. “Every day working with the staff was a highlight. They are all great people and they have an ethos that makes the hospital special. Everybody cares compassionately. They really do.

“You can’t encapsulate how great they all have been. I’ll miss them terribly.”

MC Jean Kittson with clinical director of San Cancer Services Associate Professor Gavin Marx, Mrs Jo Marx and San Foundation managing director Karen Gair.

The prestigious San Doctor Academic Award was presented to current medical advisory committee deputy chairman Professor Henry Woo in recognition of his leadership and innovation, and commitment to education and skills sharing.

Professor Woo is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Sydney, a foundation member of the academic staff of the onsite medical school and has been prolifically involved in clinical trials and publication of research findings. He said it is a privilege and honour to be recognised with the San Doctor Academic Award.

“Research is part of the DNA of all people who study medicine and receiving this award is an example of how the San environment can be conducive to excellence in clinical research,” Professor Woo said.

“Teaching and sharing knowledge is a fundamental part of what we do as doctors.”

San cardiothoracic surgeon Dr Ian Nicholson was announced the winner of the San Doctor Community Services Award. An Order of Australia recipient in 2014 and finalist for the Australian of the Year in 2016, Dr Nicholson has taken part in more than 50 volunteer life-saving heart missions in the South Pacific, South America and East Africa with the San supported humanitarian aid program Open Heart International.

During the gala event Adventist HealthCare CEO Brett Goods shared recent hospital initiatives, acknowledging the role of the medical fraternity in underpinning the hospital’s provision of quality care while San Foundation managing director Karen Gair highlighted the healing benefits to patients of expressing their gratitude for great care. Current hospital medical advisory committee chairman Professor John Watson thanked everyone involved in quality care and all those attending and involved in the organisation of the evening.

Related Stories