San staff awarded by local rotary


*Banner photo: “Wahroonga Rotary president Marlene Carty, San ICU manager Chris Waite, 2016 Bill Levanthal award recipient Brendon Carter, San CEO Phil Currie and Wahroonga Rotary’s Gordon Fuller.”

Wahroonga, New South Wales

Two nurses from the Sydney Adventist Hospital (the San) have received awards for going the extra mile for their patients.

Coronary Care Unit nurse Susan Van Vliet and Intensive Care Unit nurse Brendon Carter each received 2016 Bill Leventhal Awards from Wahroonga Rotary Club at a recent presentation ceremony. They were nominated by their colleagues. 

Five San staff members also received Pride of Workmanship Awards in recognition of their hard work and contribution to their patients and hospital. The recipients were: Jacob Dye (Report and Administration Support); Steve Stephenson (Oncology Department); Tracey Buwalda (Maternity Ward); Sally Martin (Medical Services) and Trish Campbell (former nurse unit manager).

Pride of Workmanship awardees Trish Campbell (second from left) and Steve Stephenson (second from right) with their colleagues.

The Bill Leventhal Award is named after a former president of the Wahroonga Rotary Club.