Big leadership changes in Papua New Guinea


Lae, Papua New Guinea

The Papua New Guinea Union Mission’s (PNGUM) 15th business session concluded with many new faces in leadership roles throughout the local missions and the Union. 

The nine missions have seven new presidents and six new mission secretaries, while most of the CFOs remain in place or have swapped from other missions.

A number of the new presidents had been serving as secretaries of their missions and are moving into their new roles after the serving presidents retired. The outgoing presidents were honoured during the session, together with Joe and Judy Ponduk from the PNGUM education department who are also retiring. Those retiring have given a combined total of 308 years of service to the Church in PNG.

PNGUM president Geoffrey Pomaleu acknowledges the husband and wife team of Joe and Judy Ponduk, who retired from the education and women’s ministry portfolios, respectively. [Photo courtesy: Ben Turner]

The session, held last month as part of a regional convention, was peaceful with much prayer, local mission and PNGUM departmental reports, and praise and worship. South Pacific Division president Pastor Glen Townend and Dr Patterson Stanley from Andrews University delivered Spirit-led worship moments each evening and morning, focusing on discipleship and biblical servant leadership. 

The Adventist community around Lae flocked to the evening praise and worship. The congregation grew even more for the open air Sabbath service where recently appointed PNGUM president Pastor Geoffrey Pomaleu preached at the conclusion of the session. 

CPC president Pastor Kove Tau gives an emotional tribute to former PNGUM president Dr Leigh Rice. [Photo courtesy: Ben Turner]

The session ended with an exchange of the leadership baton from the outgoing PNGUM leaders to the incoming leaders together with the implementation plan document of the PNGUM Corporate Plan 2013-2020.

Note: the Central Papua region (president Kove Tau, secretary Rex Koi, CFO Max Lassah) is a conference and, as such, appoints its own officers.